Third Grade

or 8-9 Yrs

Den Leader

Lynne Haberstroh

Our Goals

In the Bear Den, there are seven achievements: Bear Claws (knife safety and Whittling Chip), Bear Necessities (Hiking and Camping fundamentals), Fellowship and Duty to God (completed with family), Fur, Feathers, and Ferns (Nature), Grin and Bear It (Character), Paws for Action (Service), and one of thirteen electives.  Each achievement earns a belt loop.  This is the year your son will grow in amazing ways. After earning their Bear Badge, the scout may earn additional belt loops by completing additional achievement tasks.  More information on requirements can be found at


Most of the advancement for the Bear rank is done with the den; however, much of it can also be done at home and Fellowship and Duty to God achievement must be done at home or place of worship.  The parent signs off in the scout’s handbook and the Den Leader records the advancements from the handbook in our tracking Software.  The Bear program relies heavily on family involvement, but you will see this gradually change with the scout doing more with his den and more individual direction as he graduates to Webelos.  The new program that started in the summer/fall of 2015 includes much more outdoor activities that previously so many events may be on weekends, we try to schedule at times that can accommodate as many families as possible.

Ready to join?

Then you probably have some questions. Contact us and we’ll get right back to you.